RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year 2016


by Danielle Holian

RTÉ Choice Music Prize event will be held at Vicar Street, Dublin on March 9th. The Irish Album of the Year 2016 shortlist has been announced. The event is in association with IMRO and IRMA.

The shortlist is as follows:

All Tvvins – IIVV (Warner Music)

Bantum – Move (Self Released)

Wallis Bird – Home (Mount Silver / Caroline International)

The Divine Comedy – Foreverland (Divine Comedy Records)

Lisa Hannigan – At Swim (Hoop Recordings)

Katie Kim – Salt (Art For Blind Records)

James Vincent McMorrow – We Move (Faction Records)

Overhead, The Albatross – Learning to Growl (Self Released)

Rusangano Family – Let The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)

We Cut Corners – The Cadences Of Others (Delphi)

The albums that have been shortlisted can be listened to in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website www.choicemusicprize.ie. The event will be broadcast live RTÉ 2fm for a four-hour extended programme from 7-11 p.m. One week later the RTÉ Choice Music Prize TV programme will play on RTÉ2.

The winner of the night will receive €10,000. The fund has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All the shortlisted acts will receive a commissioned award.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are available at Ticketmaster.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s